Why Kevin De Bruyne has to win PFA Player Of The Year

The Premier League 2019/20 season is at it’s climax and there is just one matchday left. We already know who are champions but we are yet to find out who will be awarded as the PFA Player Of The Season.

The award, most recently given to Virgil Van Dijk during the 2018/19 season, is normally handed out towards the end of the season. There has been no date announced yet, with the PFA confident the awards will go ahead.

Creator: Barrington Coombs 
Copyright: PA Wire

In an awards ceremony which may be done virtually as we saw with the NFL draft, there have been talk of who will go ahead and win the award.

Liverpool are the Premier League champions after a brilliant season, despite the poor form shown in July. Sadio Mane and Jordan Henderson are the two favourites from a Liverpool perspective but for me, my Player of the Season is Manchester City’s Kevin De Bruyne.

Plenty feel that with how good Liverpool have been this season, it should result in a Liverpool player winning the award. However, when Manchester City won the Premier League in the 2017-18 season and were 19 points ahead of second place Manchester United, Liverpool’s Mohamed Salah won the award ahead of the likes of De Bruyne and Raheem Sterling.

Embed from Getty Images

Kevin De Bruyne has 11 goals and 19 assists in the Premier League to his name this season. He is two assists way from breaking the record set by Thierry Henry for most assists in one season (20).

Embed from Getty Images

Further more he was four off the record in 2017-18 and two off the record in 2016-17.

He is the best attacking player in the league and deserves the individual accolade to reward him for his brilliance, not just this year but for the previous three seasons.

Sadio Mane has recorded 17 goals and 9 assists this campaign and would be an equally strong candidate for the illustrious trophy.

Jordan Henderson, who was recently named ‘FWA Footballer of the Year’, was once the bookies favourites to take home the award but the money seems to have gone elsewhere in the betting markets.

While his stats do not match up with De Bruyne or Mane, the simple fact he has captained Liverpool to their first title in 30 years while recording consistently high performing speaks volumes about the player.

It should be noted that Ryan Giggs won the award while only recording two goals and seven assists in 2008-09, a year in which Steven Gerrard recorded 16 goals and 11 assists.

I am of the opinion that Kevin De Bruyne has to win the award due to his breathtaking performances this year.

When a player consistnelty steals the headlines in a team as good as Manchester City the world has to take note.

No doubt the Belgium international will replicate his fine form next season for club and country as he looks to asert himself as one of the greatest midfielders of this generation.


About the author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *